Award Winners 2017

The National Awards for Economic Development Excellence are Australia’s only annual awards for economic development professionals.

The 2017 Awards were presented at EDA’s NEDC17 Awards Gala Dinner in Ballarat on 12th October 2017

Nine awards were presented in 2017 plus three honorary awards.

  • Economic Development Strategic Thinking
  • Economic Development Marketing & Promotion
  • Economic Development through Partnerships/Collaboration
  • Community in Economic Development
  • Economic Development Initiatives – under 15,000 residents
  • Economic Development Initiatives – over 15,000 residents.
  • Economic Development Initiatives – rural and remote areas.
  • Economic Development Event or Forum
  • Digital Entrepreneurs

Honorary Awards

  • Leading the Way Award – Economic Development Leadership (Elected Member)
  • Rising Star Award – Economic Development Leadership (Economic Development Practitioner – up to 30 years old)
  • Agent of Change Award – Economic Development Leadership (Economic Development Practitioner – over 30 years old)

Economic Development Australia (EDA) congratulates all winners and finalists.

View previous year’s Award entries →


2017 winners and finalists

Economic Development Marketing & Promotion

Winner: Ipswich City Council

Finalists: Warrnambool City Council / Waverley City Council

Economic Development Single Event or Activity

Winner: Sunshine Coast Council

Finalist: RDA Barossa

Economic Development Through Partnerships

Winner:  Manjimup Shire Council

Finalists: Latrobe City Council / Sunshine Coast Council / Onkaparinga City Council / Wollongong City Council

Economic Development Strategic Thinking

Winner: Moreton Bay Regional Council

Finalists: Perth City Council / Waverley City Council

Community in Economic Development

Winner: Casey City Council

Finalists: Hobsons Bay City Council / Southern Downs Regional Council / Sunshine Coast Council

Digital Entrepreneurs

Winner: Darebin City Council

Finalists: Ipswich City Council / Sunshine Coast Council / Greater Dandenong City Council / Urban Enterprise

Economic Development Initiatives – Rural & Remote

Winner: Geografia

Finalist: RDA Townsville & North West Queensland

Economic Development Initiatives – Over 15,000 Residents

Winner: Sunshine Coast Council

Finalists: Greater Bendigo City Council / Wanneroo City Council

Economic Development Initiatives – Under 15,000 Residents

Winner: Manjimup Shire Council

No Finalists in this category

Agent of Change (Honorary Award)

Winner: Peter Chaffey

FinalistsDr Ian Martinus / Peter Jeffery

Rising Star (Honorary Award)

Winner: Monique Warren

View previous year’s Award entries →