Statement from EDA

Due to the escalation of COVID-19 outbreaks in Victoria and NSW and continuing lockdowns and travel restrictions, NEDC20 will now be a completely online event.

This also means some changes to the EDA National Awards for Excellence.  The pandemic has impacted many members’ plans and projects and we know for many of you, preparing a submission is proving impossible. However, some of you wish to acknowledge colleagues for individual excellence throughout this challenging period. As such, the EDA National Awards for Excellence will include just three honorary categories this year (as listed below).

The closing date for awards submissions in these three categories is now 4th September 2020.  All other categories are closed until 2021.

Apply Now!    

Entries close 5pm AEST Friday 4th September 2020

Award Categories

10. The Peter Chaffey Economic Development Leadership Award (Economic Development Practitioner – over 30 years old)
This award recognises an individual who has demonstrated exemplary performance in the economic development profession. Successful nominations will have had a significant impact on revitalising communities, and will have been at the forefront of developing and delivering projects that drive innovation and change. They will have played a major role in shaping and improving the practice of economic development.

11. Economic Development Rising Star Leadership (Economic Development Practitioner – up to 30 years old)
This award recognises outstanding achievement by a young, emerging leader in the economic development profession. Nominations should detail the significant career achievements to date and the impact of those achievements on the organisation and the community as a whole, and also explain how these achievements have contributed to the advancement of economic development as a profession. Nominations for the award must be endorsed by an EDA member and will recognise not just their contribution to economic development but their level of community involvement.

12. Economic Development Leadership Award (Elected Member)
This award recognises an individual who has displayed dedication and commitment to his/her community as a leader and advocate for economic development. They will have demonstrated sustained and effective efforts to work with community groups and industry leaders in the development of programs and projects. Nominations for the award must be endorsed by an EDA member but the nominee does not need to be a member of EDA to be eligible to receive this award.

Application Process

The following criteria / rules apply:

  • Entries open 18th June 2020 and close on Friday 4th September at 5pm AEST
  • The same project and/or application cannot be used for different categories
  • EDA Award for Excellence winners from previous years may not re-submit the same applications  unless there have been significant developments
  • Applicants may submit different applications in more than one category
  • Awards presented will be to the organisation or person named on the application form
  • Projects eligible must have had their activities occur between 1 Jan 2019 – 30 June 2020
  • No alterations to applications will be permitted after the date of submission although submissions may be withdrawn prior to announcement of winners
  • There is no entry fee
  • Judges may select up to three category finalists and one category winner for each category
  • Judges may award an encouragement or highly commended award in each category
  • Judges may decide to not award finalists or winners
  • For categories 10, 11 & 12, the entry must be endorsed by an EDA member
  • For categories 10 & 11, award nominees must be a current EDA member
  • These awards will be judged to recognise excellence and there will be no correspondence entered into by the applicants with any of the judging panel
  • Judges will be looking for economic development examples that show the application of professional economic development principles that generate measurable success in the economy
  • Applications are to be lodged online only. Please click the “Apply Now!” button above/below.

Please note:

  • An email confirmation will be sent to the applicant confirming receipt
  • Make sure to upload a photo of the entrant / project – this will be used for the EDA Journal article on all successful submissions and runners up
  • There is a 5MB limit on any supporting files (doc, pdf, image files etc with limit of 5MB per file)

Judging Criteria

Entrants in categories 10-12 should respond to the following question:

5. Please complete a profile of the individual’s achievements to be considered for this recognition. (Limit 1000 words)

A judging panel comprising of leading Australian economic development practitioners who have no conflict of interest with your application will be used to assess entries. They may consider withholding awards in any category at their discretion. The decision of the judges will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Intellectual Property

Applicants need to consider the importance of protecting the intellectual property which may be contained in applications. You may need to protect your intellectual property relating to innovative ideas prior to it being publicly disclosed. Economic Development Australia accepts no responsibility or liability for loss of any commercial privilege or any other things which constitutes loss or damage as a result of an entry in these awards.


The following points must be agreed and submitted with your application to be considered (included within online Application

  • I have the authority, knowledge and approval of the applicant to submit this information
  • The information contained in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge
  • I acknowledge and approve Economic Development Australia to use the information in this application for any promotional or marketing they deem appropriate
  • I have read the rules and conditions of entry and agree to abide by them
  • I accept the judge’s decision as final

Award Winners

All finalists will be advised of their selection and details of the awards presentation. Edited summaries of entries may be published on the web and in the media.

Economic Development Australia reserves the right to use all or any of the materials entered in the competition for promotions of the awards. Under no circumstances shall the organisers be held responsible for the payment of royalties or other charges for the use of material provided in support of the awards. All entries become the property of EDA on submission.

No responsibility for loss or misdirection of entries will be accepted by EDA or its contractors.

Apply Now!    

Entries close 5pm AEST Friday 4th September 2020

View 2019 Award Winners & Finalists →